Alex Box Stadium Selected as Host-Site for 2004 NCAA Regional

by (@LSUsports)
Alex Box Stadium Selected as Host-Site for 2004 NCAA Regional

BATON ROUGE — LSU’s Alex Box Stadium has been selected as an NCAA Baseball Regional host site for the 15th straight season, the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced Sunday.

LSU will play host to an NCAA regional tournament for the 15th straight season and for the 16th time overall. The NCAA Baton Rouge Regional begins on Friday, June 4 and continues through Sunday, June 6.

The Baton Rouge Regional will feature LSU and three other teams in a double-elimination format. The teams, seedings, game times and brackets for the Baton Rouge Regional will be announced at 11 a.m. Monday on ESPN2.

Ticket information for the Baton Rouge Regional will also be announced on Monday.

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee will set the entire 64-team bracket Monday through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series. The committee will not reseed the field after play begins.

All 16 regional sites were selected Sunday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through Saturday, May 29, are as follows:
Fayetteville, Arkansas (Arkansas, 39-21); Fullerton, California (California State, Fullerton, 36-20); Kinston, North Carolina (East Carolina, 48-11); Tallahassee, Florida (Florida State, 41-20); Athens, Georgia (Georgia, 38-20); Atlanta, Georgia (Georgia Tech, 41-18); Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Louisiana State, 41-17); Coral Gables, Florida (Miami, Fla., 44-11); Oxford, Mississippi (Mississippi, 39-19); South Bend, Indiana (Notre Dame, 49-10); Oklahoma City, Oklahoma (Oklahoma, 37-22); Houston, Texas (Rice, 42-12); Columbia, South Carolina (South Carolina, 44-15); Palo Alto, California (Stanford, 44-11); Austin, Texas (Texas, 50-13); Charlottesville, Virginia (Virginia, 42-13).

All regionals are campus sites except East Carolina (Grainger Stadium in Kinston, North Carolina) and Oklahoma (SBC Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City).

By virtue of being awarded a regional, 12 of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field, but some could win automatic berths Sunday in their respective conference tournaments. Cal State Fullerton, Notre Dame, Rice and Stanford already have clinched automatic berths.

Mississippi and Virginia will host a regional for the first time, while eight sites (Cal State Fullerton, Florida State, Georgia Tech, LSU, Miami, Rice, Stanford, Texas) also hosted in 2003.

This will be the 23rd time that Florida State has hosted a regional, while Miami and Texas are hosting for the 20th time since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975. LSU is hosting a regional for the 16th time, while Stanford (13th), South Carolina (10th), Georgia Tech (sixth), Cal St. Fullerton (fourth), Notre Dame (fourth), Rice (fourth), Arkansas (second), and Georgia (second) have hosted in the past as well.

East Carolina has hosted a regional before, but it was in Wilson, North Carolina. This will be the first regional held in Kinston, North Carolina. This will be the fifth time that Oklahoma has served as host institution, with three of those regionals being held in Oklahoma City.

Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced Sunday, June 6, live on ESPN SportsCenter during the 10 p.m. Central time telecast. A telephonic news conference will follow, at approximately 10:30 p.m. Central time.

The 58th Men’s College World Series begins play Friday, June 18, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.