Five Tigers Named to 2004 All-SEC Teams

by (@LSUsports)
Five Tigers Named to 2004 All-SEC Teams

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — LSU junior outfielder Jon Zeringue and Ole Miss utility player/designated hitter Stephen Head were selected 2004 Southeastern Conference Co-Baseball Players of the Year, Florida’s junior righthander Justin Hoyman was named Pitcher of the Year and Alabama pitcher Wade LeBlanc was named 2004 SEC Freshman of the Year by a vote of the league’s 12 head baseball coaches.

The coaches also tabbed Arkansas skipper Dave Van Horn and Georgia head coach David Perno as SEC Co-Coaches of the Year. Arkansas catcher Brady Toops was named SEC Baseball Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Zeringue, Head and Hoyman lead a list of players named to the first and second-team All-SEC squads for this season. Zeringue batted .404 on the season and appeared in virtually all SEC offensive leader categories. Head batted .357 while boasting a 2.43 ERA as a two-way star for the Rebels. Florida’s Hoyman tied for the SEC lead in wins with 10 and led in innings pitched with 117.1.

Van Horn and Perno led their teams to 19-11 records in conference play, outright divisional titles and will share the SEC Championship regular season title. Arkansas last won the title in 1999, while Georgia won it in 2001.

As a freshman, LeBlanc was masterful from the mound, collecting at 2.08 ERA while being second in the league in both innings pitched and batters struck out, while leading the SEC in batters struck out looking.

Toops leads the SEC in runners thrown out in 2004 with 22.

Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of the 12 first-team votes. No player was a unanimous selection to this year’s team.

2004 All-SEC Team

1B – C.J. Smith, Florida R-R 6-4 220 Jr. Tampa, Fla.
2B- Warner Jones, Vanderbilt R-R 5-10 160 So. Nashville, Tenn.
3B – Josh Smith, Georgia L-R 6-0 177 Jr. Athens, Ga.
SS – Ryan Klosterman, Vanderbilt R-R 5-11 175 Jr. Clermont, Fla.
C- Landon Powell, South Carolina S-R 6-4 231 Sr. New Hill, N.C.
OF – J.C. Holt, LSU L-R 5-10 170 Jr. Sieper, La.
OF – Jon Zeringue, LSU R-R 6-2 205 Jr. Thibodaux, La.
OF – Brad Corley, Mississippi State R-R 6-1 198 So. Louisville, Ky.
DH – Stephen Head, Ole Miss L-L 6-2 220 So. Raymond, Miss.
P – Justin Hoyman, Florida R-R 6-2 200 Jr. Cocoa, Fla.
P – Mark Holliman, Ole Miss R-R 6-1 187 So. Germantown, Tenn.
RP – Chad Blackwell, South Carolina R-R 6-1 162 Jr. Clewiston, Fla.
RP – Will Startup, Georgia L-L 6-1 185 So. Cartersville, Ga.

1B – Josh Morris, Georgia R-R 6-5 228 Fr. Cartersville, Ga.
2B – Marshall Szabo, Georgia S-R 5-10 180 Jr. Alpharetta, Ga.
3B – Clay Harris, LSU R-R 6-4 225 Jr. Slidell, La.
SS – Justin Holmes, Georgia R-R 5-10 175 Sr. Oviedo, Fla.
SS – Scott Hode, Arkansas R-R 6-0 180 Jr. Crystal Lake, Ill.
C – Craig Tatum, Mississippi State R-R 6-0 221 So. Hattiesburg, Miss.
OF – Ryan Patterson, LSU R-R 5-11 200 Jr. Rowlett, Texas
OF – Brenden Winn, South Carolina R-R 6-0 205 Jr. Indian Harbour, Fla.
OF – Ben Harrison, Florida R-R 6-3 220 Sr. Key West, Fla.
OF – Seth Smith, Ole Miss L-L 6-3 215 Jr. Brandon, Miss.
DH – Alex Suarez, Tennessee R-R 6-0 190 Jr. Miami, Fla.
P – Wade LeBlanc, Alabama L-L 6-3 180 Fr. Lake Charles, La.
P – Jeremy Sowers, Vanderbilt L-L 6-1 175 Jr. Louisville, Ky.
RP – Steven Register, Auburn R-R 6-1 175 Jr. Columbus, Ga.

SEC CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEAR – Jon Zeringue, LSU; Stephen Head, Ole Miss
SEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Justin Hoyman, Florida
SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Wade LeBlanc, Alabama
SEC CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR – Dave Van Horn, Arkansas; David Perno, Georgia

1B – Josh Morris, Georgia R-R 6-5 228 Fr. Cartersville, Ga.
2B- Adam Davis, Florida S-R 5-9 180 Fr. Fort Myers, Fla.
3B – Chris Coghlan, Ole Miss L-R 6-1 197 Fr. Palm Harbor, Fla.
SS – David Cash, South Carolina R-R 6-2 185 Fr. Odessa, Fla.
C – Brian Jeroloman, Florida L-R 5-11 180 Fr. Wellington, Fla.
OF – Joey Side, Georgia R-R 6-1 180 Fr. Loganville, Ga.
OF – Alex Presley, Ole Miss L-R 5-11 180 Fr. Monroe, La.
OF – Jake Dugger, Arkansas L-L 5-10 190 Fr. Omaha, Neb.
DH – Danny Hamblin, Arkansas R-R 6-1 200 Fr. Rowlett, Texas
P – Wade LeBlanc, Alabama L-L 6-3 180 Fr. Lake Charles, La.
P – Clay Dirks, LSU L-L 6-4 230 Fr. Hernando, Miss.
RP – Alex Hempy, South Carolina L-L 6-3 215 Fr. Raleigh, N.C.