West Named to Men's Golf All-SEC Second Team

by LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
West Named to Men's Golf All-SEC Second Team

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — LSU junior Heath West was selected as a member of the 2004 All-Southeastern men’s golf team, the conference office announced on Monday.

West, a native of Dothan, Ala., earned second-team honors for the second time in his career. West was named Second-Team All-SEC as a freshman in 2002. LSU has now had at least one golfer named All-SEC every season since 1982.

West, honored as the SEC Golfer of the Week on April 8, led the Tigers this season by posting a 72.6 stroke average with 14 rounds of par or better. He recorded four top-10 finishes and seven top-20 finishes. West tied for 15th at the 2004 SEC Championship last month in Sea Island, Ga., shooting a 5-over par 215. He also recorded top-12 finishes in each of LSU’s home tournaments during the season.

Florida’s Buddy Alexander was honored as the 2004 SEC Coach of the Year, winning the award for the second-straight season and seventh time in his career. The Gators’ Camilo Villegas was named the SEC Player of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Villegas was a member of the second team last season. Florida’s Jessie Mudd and Georgia’s Brendon Todd were named co-freshmen of the year. Todd was the medalist at the 2004 SEC Championship.

Villegas and Todd both made the first team and were joined by Alabama’s Lars Brovold, Arkansas’s Andrew Dahl, Florida’s Matt Every, Kevin Kisner of Georgia, John Holmes of Kentucky, Vanderbilt’s Luke List, and Erik Johansen of South Carolina. Dahl, Kisner and Johansen were all repeat first-team selections.

West was joined on the second-team squad by Jonathan Dismuke of Auburn, David Denham and Richard Scott of Georgia, Matt Kohn of Kentucky, Alex Hamilton and Martin Rominger of South Carolina, and John Scott Rattan and David Skinns of Tennessee.

“This is really a nice honor for Heath, he had a good season and maybe he will have a good season next year and make the first team,” said LSU head coach Greg Jones.

Lars Brovold, Alabama
Andrew Dahl, Arkansas
Kevin Kisner, Georgia
Brendon Todd, Georgia
Matt Every, Florida
Camilo Villegas, Florida
John Holmes, Kentucky
Erik Johansen, South Carolina
Luke List, Vanderbilt

Jonathan Dismuke, Auburn
Jessie Mudd, Florida
David Denham, Georgia
Richard Scott, Georgia
Matt Kohn, Kentucky
Heath West, LSU
Alex Hamilton, South Carolina
Martin Rominger, South Carolina
John Scott Rattan, Tennessee
David Skinns, Tennessee