LSU's Clayton Selected as Biletnikoff Semifinalist

by (@LSUsports)
LSU's Clayton Selected as Biletnikoff Semifinalist

BATON ROUGE — LSU wide receiver Michael Clayton is one of 10 players from across the nation named as a semifinalist for the Biletnikoff Award, it was announced on Thursday.

Clayton, a junior from Baton Rouge, is the only player from the Southeastern Conference on the list. Other semifinalists include Pittsburgh’s Larry Fitzgerald, Oklahoma State’s Rashaun Woods, Southern Cal’s Mike Williams, Washington’s Reggie Williams, Texas’ Roy Williams, Oklahoma’s Mark Clayton, North Carolina State’s Jerricho Cotchery and Florida State’s Craphonso Thorpe.

Clayton currently leads LSU and ranks among the national leaders with 41 receptions for 620 yards and five touchdowns.

Clayton is only 80 yards away from becoming the first player in LSU history to have at least 700 yards receiving in three consecutive seasons. Clayton has also caught at least one pass in all 34 games of his collegiate career.

Former LSU standout Josh Reed won the Biletnikoff Award in 2001.