Cross Country Competes at Chile Pepper Invitational

by (@LSUsports)
Cross Country Competes at Chile Pepper Invitational

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Facing some of the most difficult competition of the season, the LSU men’s cross country team placed 16th and the women finished 21st Saturday at the Arkansas-hosted Chile Pepper Invitational.

“I feel really good about how we ran today,” said LSU cross country coach Mark Elliott. “Everyone who ran posted personal best times on this course. Obviously, we wish the positioning was higher, but we also have to be realistic.”

The Razorbacks won the men’s team crown scoring just 78 points. They were followed by Oklahoma (130) and fellow SEC competitor Alabama (154). The Tigers finished the day with 424 team points.

On the women’s side, Nevada ran away with top honors, tallying 114 points, while Texas Tech (122) and Arkansas (153) followed in second and third, respectively. LSU finished with 565 points.

Individually, UT-Pan American’s Westley Keating won the men’s 10K race, dominating the field with a time of 29:25.86, while Virginia Tech’s Marlies Overbeeke finished on top in the women’s 6K run with a time of 20:47.42.

Once again, LSU’s strongest performance of the day came from junior Jimmy Wiggins. The Covington, La., native finished 33rd overall with an impressive time of 30:50.82. Wiggins was trailed by sophomores Andrew Huston (32:12.92) and Roland LeBlanc (32:34.24) who rounded out the Tigers’ top three.

Also finishing in scoring position for LSU were Jarett Roche’ and Matt Carroll who posted times of 32:35.56 and 32:36.37, respectively.

For the Lady Tigers, junior Katie Denton led the young squad for the fifth straight week. She improved improved on her PR at the Agri Park course by over a minute, turning in a time of 22:49.20 to place 72nd overall.

The next three Lady Tigers to cross the finish line all recorded season-best 6K times as sophomore Michelle Hymel ran the race in 23:07.61, freshman Jennifer Radecker turned in a time of 24:04.80 and sophomore Megan Kliebert finished in 24:13.35.

Fellow sophomore Sarah Colosimo rounded out LSU’s top five with a time of 24:22.90.  Both the Tigers and Lady Tigers will take next weekend off as they prepare for the SEC Championship, Nov. 3, in Athens, Ga. 

INDIVIDUAL RESULTS (champion plus all LSU finishers)

1, Westley Keating, UTPA, 29:25.86. 33, Jimmy Wiggins, 30:50.82. 101, Andrew Huston, 32:12.92. 119, Roland LeBlanc, 32:34.24. 120, 32:35.56. 121, Matt Carroll, 32:36.37. 146, Nick Accardo, 33:05.38. 155, James Presley, 33:13.96.

1, Marlies Overbeeke, VT, 20:47.42. 72, Katie Denton, 22:49.20. 97, Michelle Hymel, 23:07.61. 146, Jennifer Radecker, 24:04.80. 155, Megan Kliebert, 24:13.35. 168, Sarah Colosimo, 24:22.90. 175, Kate Accardo, 24:31.62. 177, Erin Vandivort, 24:32.45.