Gaston Advances to Main Draw of ITA Regional

by (@LSUsports)
Gaston Advances to Main Draw of ITA Regional

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — LSU’s Colt Gaston began the ITA Region III Championships with two wins Friday to advance to the main draw. Gaston whipped his first opponent, Olti Mollaymeri of Tennessee-Martin, 6-1, 6-1, then hung on to beat Adam Maskill of Murray State, 6-7, 6-4, 6-4, in the second round.

Brandon Nicholson also picked up a win in the first round but fell just short of advancing to the main draw with a tough loss to Reid Bourgeois of Southern Miss, 2-6, 7-5, 7-6(3).

“Brandon was really competitive today,” said LSU head coach Jeff Brown. “He did everything but put it away.”

Friday will be a huge day for the Tigers, as each strives to advance toward the qualifying for the second grand slam of the season in next month’s National Indoors.

Matches begin at 8:15 a.m. when Gaston takes on Rishan Kuruppu of Middle Tennessee State. Cory Ross will play his first match of the fall season in the morning. Ken Skupski, Bryan Fisher and Jason Hazley all received byes to the second round and begin play at 12:45 p.m. and 2:30 p.m.

Nicholson will shift his focus to doubles play Friday evening when he and Hazley take on Rishan Kuruppu and Andreas Silijestrom of Middle Tennessee State. Ross and Gaston play Ole Miss’ Frederik Aarum and Claes Lindholm. Fisher and Skupski received a first round bye.



First Round
Colt Gaston (LSU) def. Olti Mollaymeri (UT-Martin), 6-1, 6-1
Brandon Nicholson (LSU) def. David Donaldson (Ole Miss), 6-3, 6-3

Second Round
Colt Gaston (LSU) def. Adam Maskill (Murray State), 6-7, 6-4, 6-4
Reid Bourgeois (Southern Miss.) def. Brandon Nicholson (LSU), 2-6, 7-5, 7-6(5)



Round of 64
Colt Gaston (LSU) vs. Rishan Kuruppu (Middle Tennessee State), 8:15 a.m.
Cory Ross (LSU) vs. Matija Sulin (Georgia State), 8:15 a.m.
Ken Skupski (LSU) received bye
Bryan Fisher (LSU) received bye
Jason Hazley (LSU) received bye

Round of 32
Ken Skupski (LSU) vs. Ben Birkmann (Jacksonville), 12:45 p.m.
Bryan Fisher (LSU) vs. Colin Purcell (Miami) or Antonio Sierra (Central Florida), 2:30 p.m.
Jason Hazley (LSU) vs. Jose-Carlos Pinto (Mississippi State) or Alex Jago (Memphis), 2:30 p.m.

Round of 64
Nicholson/Hazley (LSU) vs. Kuruppu/Silijestrom (Middle Tennessee State), 5:45 p.m.
Ross/Gaston (LSU) vs. Aarum/Lindholm (Ole Miss) 5:45 p.m.
Fisher/Skupski (LSU) received bye

Round of 32
Fisher/Skupski (LSU) vs. Funke/Martin (Southern Miss) or Gonzales/Ormaza (Georgia) 7 p.m.