Three Tigers Named to All-SEC Soccer Team

by (@LSUsports)
Three Tigers Named to All-SEC Soccer Team

OXFORD, Miss. — LSU soccer players Mandy Heintz, Stephanie Keating and Ashley Mitnick were each named to the Southeastern Conference’s Second Team on Wednesday as the 2002 SEC Awards were announced at the annual banquet here in Oxford, Miss.

“Having three players named to the second team in the conference is a huge honor,” said LSU head coach George Fotopoulos. “The SEC is definitely one of the most talented conferences in the nation and that means that our players are among the best of the best. I’m just proud of Ashley, Mandy and Stephanie and all of the hard work that they put in this season. They’ve all played a big part in our success.”

LSU earned three All-SEC Second-Team members for the first time in school history on Wednesday. The previous record for Tigers named to the all-conference team was two set last season as both Mitnick and Artie Brown were honored.

Mitnick, the Tigers’ senior from Lilburn, Ga., earned All-SEC Second-Team honors for the fourth-consecutive season, while Heintz and Keating received their first conference accolades. Heintz, a native of San Antonio, Texas, led the SEC in both goals (22) and total points (48) during the 2002 season and is currently ranked fifth in the nation in goals per game average.

Keating, a junior transfer from the University of Florida, completed her first full season with the Tigers and finished the year as the second-place performer in the SEC with 10 assists. Keating also set an LSU single-season record with 10 assists and surpassed former Tiger great Jackie Cooper.

“All three of these young ladies have meant a lot to this program,” Fotopoulos said. “They’ve had outstanding seasons this year and it’s not over yet. Hopefully, they will be able to build on the accolades that they’ve earned and use that confidence to pick up some wins in the SEC Tournament.”

Auburn head coach Karen Richter, Auburn sophomore forward Sarah Steinmann along with Ole Miss freshman Kelly Renie, headlined the 2002 SEC women’s soccer awards announced Wednesday night at the SEC Tournament awards banquet in Oxford, Miss.

Richter was named SEC Coach of the Year while Steinmann received SEC Player of the Year and First Team All-SEC honors and Renie garnered the awards of SEC Freshman of the Year as well as First Team All-SEC. Richter received her first SEC Coach of the Year honor after guiding Auburn to its first SEC Championship in school history.

The LSU soccer team will look to earn its first postseason victory in eight seasons on Thursday as the Tigers challenge top-seeded Auburn in the opening round of the SEC Tournament at 11:30 a.m. here in Oxford, Miss.

2002 SEC Women’s Soccer Awards

Sarah Steinmann So. F Auburn
Elizabeth Ramsey Jr. F Kentucky
Kelly Renie Fr. F Ole Miss
Rhian Wilkinson Jr. F Tennessee
Andrea Velasco Jr. MF Georgia
Kristal Menard So. MF Ole Miss
Jennifer Lewis Jr. MF Vanderbilt
Danielle Murphy Sr. D Florida
Carolyn Cayard Sr. D Georgia
Keeley Dowling So. D Tennessee
Jordan Kellgren Sr. GK Florida

Robin Fulton Jr. F Florida
Mandy Heintz Jr. F LSU
Kim Patrick Sr. F Tennessee
Erin Sampson Sr. MF Arkansas
Stephanie Keating Jr. MF LSU
Melinda Carter Sr. MF South Carolina
Missy Keller Sr. D Alabama
Sandy Carnes Jr. D Auburn
Ashley Mitnick Sr. D LSU
Alison Jarrow Jr. D South Carolina
Megan Rivera So. GK Auburn

Karen Richter, Auburn

Sarah Steinmann, Auburn

Kelly Renie, Ole Miss