Bradie James Named Butkus Award Semifinalist

by (@LSUsports)
Bradie James Named Butkus Award Semifinalist

BATON ROUGE — LSU linebacker Bradie James has been named one of 11 semifinalists for the 2002 Butkus Award, the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando announced on Thursday.

James, a Butkus Award candidate each of the last three years, currently leads LSU and ranks fourth in the Southeastern Conference with 75 tackles. James also has 10 quarterback hurries, four tackles for losses, two sacks, one interception and one forced fumble. This year, James has two of the highest tackles games in the SEC with 19 against Virginia Tech and 18 versus The Citadel.

James, a senior from Monroe, ranks second in school history with 339 tackles. He’s also ranked among the top 10 in LSU history in career sacks with 13.

James is the second Tiger in as many years to be recognized as a semifinalist for Butkus Award. Last year, LSU’s Trev Faulk was a Butkus Award semifinalist.

The Butkus Award is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate linebacker. The list of 11 semifinalists was determined by confidential balloting of the 29-member Butkus Award Selection Committee, which is comprised of the nation’s foremost media members. The Selection Committee made their selections from the initial Butkus Award Watch List of 67 college linebackers, which was announced back on August 22, 2002.

On Thursday, November 14, the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando will announce the three finalist for this year’s Butkus Award. The 2002 Butkus Award winner will be announced at the Butkus Award Presentation Ceremony, which will be held on Friday, December 13 in Orlando.

Other 2002 Butkus Award semifinalist include: Boss Bailey (Georgia), Michael Boulware (Florida State), Rod Davis (Southern Miss), E.J. Henderson (Maryland), Derrick Johnson (Texas), Teddy Lehman (Oklahoma), Jonathan Vilma (Miami), Courtney Watson (Notre Dame), Matt Wilhelm (Ohio State), D.J. Williams (Miami).