Gold Wins Annual Intrasquad For First Time Since '95

by (@LSUsports)
Gold Wins Annual Intrasquad For First Time Since '95

BATON ROUGE — The Gold team defeated the Purple team, 223-203, for the first time since 1995 on Saturday in the 14th-annual Purple and Gold Intrasquad Meet on Saturday at the LSU Natatorium.

The teams did tie at 233 in 1998 and at 210 in 2000. The meet featured 25 events, including two exciting races in the men’s and women’s 400-yard medley relay. In the women’s relay, the gold squad of Lindsay Staak, Cissy Schepens, Heather Brand and Laura Jo Leininger finished with a time of 3:58.96, just ahead of the purple, who swam the race with a time of 4:04.04. On the men’s side the gold edged the purple by 20 seconds (3:25.27-3:25.47) for the win.

Junior All-American Stephanie Smith won two events on Saturday. Smith won the 200-yard freestyle and 500-yard freestyle. Smith won both the 1650 and 500-yard freestyle in last season’s intrasquad meet. Alice Hardesty and Myles Jaynes, both of the gold team, won their respective heats of the 100-yard freestyle. Jan Minartz won the men’s 200-yard free with a time of 1:42.21 and the 500 free with a time of 4:39.89.

“The swimming today was actually quite good and several people swam some of their best times today and some others were within a few seconds of a best time, so that is impressive,” said LSU assistant coach Amanda Norton. “The freshman did exactly what I think they should be doing from what I have seen of them in the water and a few actually did even better than I expected.”

Jill Thomas, a transfer from Maryland, won the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:09.33. Thomas was an Atlantic Coast Conference champion in the event at Maryland. She also placed second in the 200-yard breaststroke behind Cissy Schepens. Matt Rucker was a double-winner on Saturday, winning the 200-yard breaststroke and the 50-yard freestyle.

Senior All-American diver Michelle Coryell came back strong from a back injury that kept her out of action the entire second half of last season, winning the 1-meter competition with a score of 242.00. Barb Gorst, the 2002 SEC platform champion, placed second and sophomore Jessica Wantz was third. Kyle VanArsdall won the 1-meter with a mark of 261.15. Wantz won the 3-meter with a score of 294.45 and VanArsdall scored a 240.00 for the win on the men’s side.

“I saw exactly what I wanted to see today from our divers,” said diving coach Doug Shaffer. “Early in the season I want to see positive attitudes, strong fundamentals and mechanics, and that is what we have been working on.”

“I would say overall today was a pretty good performance by everyone and I think a few people swam a little better than other people but overall I am pretty happy,” said assistant coach Lars Jorgensen.

LSU will next travel to Gainesville, Fla., on Oct. 11 to face conference rival Florida in a crucial dual meet at 2p.m. The next home meet is Oct. 18 versus Wright State at 3 p.m. at the LSU Natatorium.