Wilkerson Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

by LSUsports.net (@LSUsports)
Wilkerson Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

BATON ROUGE — LSU sophomore center Ben Wilkerson is one of 36 players from across the country named to the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, the The Rimington Trophy Committee announced on Tuesday.

The Rimington Trophy was established in 2000 and is awarded annually to college football’s top center. The trophy is named for Nebraska’s Dave Rimington, college football’s most decorated offense lineman.

Wilkerson and Oklahoma’s Vince Carter are the only two sophomores on the watch list.

Wilkerson, a Hemphill, Texas native, started the final nine games for the Tigers last year, helping LSU to an 8-1 mark over that span. Wilkerson also serves as LSU’s snapper on field goal and PAT attempts.

In 2001, Wilkerson earned Second Team Freshman All-America honors as well as being a member of the Freshman All-SEC squad.

RTPROFILE.gifThe winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from six existing All America Teams.

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the College Football Hall of Fame recognizes only these six:

  • Associated Press (AP)
  • American Football Coaches Association (AFCA)
  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Football News (FN)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

The Rimington Trophy will also use these six teams to determine the winner of the center award. Because the selectors of these six All-America teams can place centers in a “mix” of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. Our policy will be to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the six All American teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie then we will determine both center the co-winners of the Rimington Trophy.

The winner of the award will be announced on Dec. 14 in Lincoln, Neb.

Past Winners:

Year No. Name School
2001 68 LaCharles Bentley Ohio State
2000 54 Dominic Raiola Nebraska