Toefield on Doak Walker Watch List

by (@LSUsports)
Toefield on Doak Walker Watch List

BATON ROUGE — LSU running back LaBrandon Toefield has been named one of 42 preseason candidates from around the country for the Doak Walker Award, the SMU Athletic Forum announced on Tuesday.

The Doak Walker Award annually goes to the nation’s top collegiate running back. Former BYU running back Luke Staley won the award last year.


The award recipient receives a stunning action sculpture of Doak Walker, cast in bronze and mounted on a wooden base. It was created by renowned artist J. Blair Buswell of Provo, Utah, a former running back at BYU who has sculpted the busts of more than a dozen inductees in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Toefield, a junior from Independence, La., rushed for 992 yards and tied an SEC record with 19 rushing touchdowns in leading the Tigers to the Southeastern Conference title. In two years with the Tigers, Toefield has rushed for 1,674 yards and 24 touchdowns.

Toefield, a First Team All-SEC selection in 2001, missed most of last year’s SEC Championship game and all of the Sugar Bowl with a knee injury. Toefield is fully recovered and will play against Virginia Tech in LSU’s season opener on Sunday, Sept. 1.

Some of the other preseason candidates for the Doak Walker Award include Maryland’s Bruce Perry, a finalist last year who rushed for 1,242 and 10 TD’s and Nevada’s Chance Kretschmer, who led the nation with 1,732 rushing yards in 2001.

Players from the SEC who are on the preseason list include Alabama’s Ahmaad Galloway, Florida’s Earnest Graham, Kentucky’s Artose Pinner, South Carolina’s Andrew Pinnock, Georgia’s Musa Smith, Arkansas’ Fred Talley and Auburn’s Carnell Williams.

The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on Nov. 19, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will vote on the winner in late November. The winner of the award will be announced live on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.